2014 Scholarships Announced

The Grays Harbor Community Foundation has announced tthe selection of the 2014 Scholarship winners. This year the Community Foundation received 387 applications and awarded 334 scholarships and renewals totaling over $535,000.
All scholarship winners, their families, school principals, counselors, and donors are invited to an Awards Breakfast at the Simpson Plaza in Hoquiam, Wednesday, May 28th at 8:00 a.m. A continental breakfast will be served and the scholarship recipients, donors, and Board members are encouraged to meet each other. The students will receive certificates of award during a brief ceremony.
Cassie Lentz, Program Officer, says: “This year was full of exciting milestones for our Scholarship Program. The percentage of students who successfully renewed their Scholarship awards was the highest it has ever been. We also were excited to be able to offer seven new Scholarships in 2014: the Ardine Lewis Memorial Scholarship, the American Veteran’s Home Association Scholarship, Dr. John F. and Ella Mae Daly Memorial Scholarship, Edd and Annie Hodges Memorial Scholarship, Lou Messmer Scholarship, North River Community Scholarships, and the Scott Weatherwax University of Puget Sound Memorial Scholarship. Our community has been extremely generous and it is because of them that our Scholarship program has continued to address the need of funding a quality education for those in our community.”
Rich Vroman, Chairman of the Scholarship Committee said, “We are proud of the growth our donors have allowed us to experience, this year that growth was exponential. We continue to receive new support from donors in all interest areas and are proud that our Scholarships cover a wide range of college, university and vocational technical support for students pursuing all types of careers.”